Does Virginia Require Auto Insurance?

Virginia law requires all drivers to be able to pay for injuries or property damage if they cause a car accident. When you register your vehicle, you will be asked to show proof of auto insurance in VA.

Liability insurance covers financial payments in accidents caused by you. The minimum limits of liability insurance a Virginia driver must have by law is $25,000 for injuries per person in a single accident, $50,00 for all injuries in an accident, and $20,000 for property damage per accident.

If a driver without insurance or without enough insurance causes an accident involving your vehicle, your uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance will pay for damages. If you are a new resident to Virginia, you should be aware that Virginia state law requires uninsured motorist insurance, unlike in many other states. The minimum limits of uninsured motorist insurance should match your liability limit minimums.

Some types of insurance can protect you from paying substantial amounts for injuries or damage to your car. Medical expenses insurance will cover your own medical bills in an accident caused by you. Collision insurance pays for damages to your car after an accident. Comprehensive insurance protects you from financial losses from damage such as a tree falling on your car or vandalism.

If you are in an accident, you might have to pay for injuries or damages. If you have auto insurance in VA, those damages will be covered. A qualified insurance agent can help find a policy right for you.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>